When I purchase ExtremeZ-IP, do I need to uninstall the previous version or a trial version before installing the new version?

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
  • Product:
    ExtremeZ-IP
  • Version:
    1.1.3-Current
  • Document Type:
    FAQ
  • Revised:
    2/27/2007
  • Reviewed:
    2/27/2007

Question:

When I purchase ExtremeZ-IP, do I need to uninstall the previous version or a trial version before installing the new version?

Answer:

No, you don’t have to do an uninstall. Group Logic typically emails to you, on the spot, the serial number and everything you need to keep all the setting that you have set with the trial. You can load a released version on top of the trial or previous version, and all settings and configuration information will be maintained.

If you just need to upgrade a trial version to the full version and are not also doing a version upgrade you do not need to reinstall the software.

Upgrading from a Trial to a Licensed version
Using the Add License button on the ExtremeZ-IP Administrator window allows you to enter a license number for any upgrade licenses without stopping the ExtremeZ-IP service. You enter license numbers while the ExtremeZ-IP service is running; clients can stay connected and continue to use ExtremeZ-IP volumes.

To add license numbers, follow these steps.

  1. Click Add License on the ExtremeZ-IP Administrator window.
  2. Type the new serial numbers for the File Server or the Print Server, then click Verify to Enable Update.
    If ExtremeZ-IP detects any problems with the serial numbers you entered, you are notified.
  3. Click OK, then close the Add License dialog box.
    Once submitted, the registry is updated and ExtremeZ-IP begins operating with the new license.

Tags: