Security permissions on the document change when performing a “Save”

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...
  • Product:
    ExtremeZ-IP
  • Version:
    all
  • Document Type:
    Fix
  • Revised:
    6/9/2004
  • Reviewed:
    6/9/2004

Symptom:

When editing a document over the network, the file being saved inherits the permissions of the Temporary Items folder.

Steps to Reproduce:

Customers report this can happen to an ExtremeZ-IP volume when:
– Parent directory of an ExtremeZ-IP volume resets permissions on all child objects and enables propagation of inheritable permissions
– Security changes are made to drive letter which is above a ExtremeZ-IP volume
– Permissions are manually changed on the ‘Network Trash’ folder for a given ExtremeZ-IP Volume
– Permissions are manually changed on the ‘Temporary Items’ folder for a given ExtremeZ-IP Volume

Cause:

Certain applications use the ‘Network Trash’ and ‘Temporary Items’ folders when performing a ‘Save’ or ‘Save As’. Permission for these folders are not correctly applied when performing a ‘Save’ or ‘Save As’.

Workaround:

See Fix

Fix:

– Stop the ExtremeZ-IP service from the Services Control Panel
– For each ExtremeZ-IP volume delete the 2 hidden Windows folders:
– Temporary Items
– Network Trash
– Restart ExtremeZ-IP (folders above will be re-created)

Tags: